Jesse Owens

ac13066c61ae97041c84bedefddd2195

Jesse & Ruth Owens arrived home from the 1936 Berlin Olympics. Son of a sharecropper and grandson of slaves, Owens won a record 4 gold medals in the very presence of Adolph Hitler. Owens said, “When I came back to my native country… I couldn’t ride in the front of the bus. I had to go to the back door. I couldn’t live where I wanted. I wasn’t invited to shake hands with Hitler, but I wasn’t invited to the White House to shake hands with the President, either.”

Leave a Reply

